Breaking: Senate elects Abba Moro new Minority Leader


Breaking: Senate elects Abba Moro new Minority Leader

The Senate on Tuesday, elected Sen Abba Moro (PDP-Benue South) as its new Minority leader.

Moro, a two-term Senator on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, is a former Minister of Interior under former President Goodluck Jonathan.

He was nominated by the PDP in the red Chamber and was subsequently affirmed.

- Advertisement -

Moro replaces Sen Simon Mwadkwon (PDP-Plateau North), who was removed by the Appeal Court recently.

It would be recalled that the 10th Assembly had upon inauguration zoned the Minority Leader position to the North Central geopolitical zone.

Sen Mwadkwon, though a first-timer to the Senate, and former House of Reps member (PDP-Riyom Barkin Ladi Constituency), was nominated by the minority caucus and was subsequently elected as the Minority Leader of the Senate.

Previous articlePDP urges CJN to probe APC’s alleged judges bribe, judiciary control
Next articleKidnapped bank staff dies after payment of N11.5m ransom


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.