Buhari appoints ex-INEC boss Jega Unijos governing council chairman


Photo: Prof Jega

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Prof. Attahiru Jega, former Chairman of the Independent National Election Commision, INEC, as Chairman, Governing Council of the University of Jos.

Malam Adamu Adamu, Minister of Education, announced this during a press briefing in Abuja on Thursday.

The minister said that Buhari also approved the appointment and reassignment of Chancellors to 42 federal universities.

- Advertisement -

Adamu also disclosed that two former ministers, Prof Anthony Anwuka and Udoma Udo Udoma, were also appointed chairmen of governing councils.

According to the minister, Anwuka is to chair the council of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State, Udoma will chair the council of Bayero University, Kano.

Both Udoma and Anwuka served as ministers in the first term of Buhari.

Other Chairmen of Councils are Prof Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo, University Of Abuja; Malam Adamu Fika, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria; Dr. Sonny Kuku, University Of Benin; Chief Ikechi Emenike, University Of Nigeria; Nsukka and Ballama Manu, University Of Maiduguri.

The minister further said that the President approved the re-constitution of Governing Councils of 23 Federal universities and Inter-University Centres (IUCs) following the expiration of their tenures since 8th May, 2021.

The minister said the Chancellors shall be presented to the University Community at an investiture ceremony to be organised during the next convocation ceremony.

Adamu added that the investiture will precede the conferment of degrees at the convocation.

“The Chancellor shall in relation to the university take precedence before all other members of the university, and when he is present shall preside at all the meetings of convocation held for conferring degrees,” he said.

Giving further details, Adamu gave the names of the appointed Chancellors as HRM Prof James Ortese Iorzua Ayatse, the Tor Tiv (University of Benin); Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe Aladesanmi III. CON, JP. Ewi of Ado-Ekiti, (Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University)Bauchi. HM Obi Ofala Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe, Obi of Onitsha, (Ahmadu Bello University), Zaria and HRM Oba Aremu Gbadebo, Alake of Egbaland, (Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State).

Also appointed are: HM, Oba Ewuare 11, Oba of Benin, (Bayero University, Kano);

HRM King W S Joshua Igbugburu X, Con, Ibenanawei of Bomo Kingdom, (Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State); HRM Professor Joseph Chike Edozien. CFR, Asagba of Asaba, (Federal University Gashua, Yobe); HRH Alhaji (Dr.) Mohammadu Abali Ibn Mohammed Idris, CON, Emir of Fika, (Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State);

King Dandeson Douglas Jaja Jeki, Amanyanabo of Opobo Kingdom, (Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina); HRH Alhaji Abubakar Shehu Abubakar III, Emir of Gombe, (Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike) and HRH, Justice Sidi Bage Muhammad 1, Emir of Lafia, (Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa), among others.

Previous articleChibok girl bags degree 7 years after Boko Haram kidnapping
Next articleOpinion: Nigeria cannot defeat Igbo, Yoruba same time -Prof Onigbinde


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.