Kawu Baraje, 8 others conferred with chieftaincy titles by Emir of llorin


Photo:Sulu-Gambari, Emir of Ilorin

A former National Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), AlhajI Kawu Baraje and eight other eminent sons of Ilorin Emirate have been conferred with various chieftaincy titles by the Emir of llorin and Chairman Kwara Council of Chiefs, Alhaji lbrahim Sulu-Gambari.

A statement issued in Ilorin on Friday by the Chief Press Secretary to the Emir, Mallam AbdulAzeez Arowona, said the recipients were bestowed with the titles for their various contributions to the development of the emirate and as part of activities lined up for the celebration of this year’s Eid-el-Kabir.

According to the statement, Baraje bagged the title of Tafida of llorin, while a philanthropist, Mallam Salihu Mustapha, is now the Turaki of llorin.

- Advertisement -

It said Sheikh Farooq Onikijipa, a frontline lslamic preacher, was bestowed the title of 4th Grand Mufti of llorin, while a former secretary to the Kwara State government, Alhaji Saka Onimago, is now the new Shetima of llorin.

Other recipients, the statement further said, are a former Kwara State governorship candidate of the defunct CPC, Dr Alimi AbdulRasaq, who is the new Mutawalle of llorin; an lslamic scholar, Sheikh Oba Solagberu is now Malami Ubandoma of llorin, while a preacher, Sheikh Yakubu Aliagan, becomes the Seriki Malami of llorin.

Previous articleInterview: Nigerian billionaire Obi Cubana speaks on mentorship, money
Next articleNigeria bolsters fight against insecurity with delivery of Super Tucano


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.