Tinubu fires all service chiefs, IGP, CGC, appoints new ones


Photo: Maj-Gen Chris Musa, new Chief of Defence Staff.

Tinubu fires all service chiefs, IGP, CGC, appoints new ones

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, GCFR, has approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police, as well as the Comptroller-General of the Nigerian Customs Service.

A statement issued on Monday in Abuja and signed by Willie Bassey, Director, Information, Office of Secretary to the Government of the Federation, says the President also approved their replacements with immediate effect.

- Advertisement -

Bassey listed the newly appointed officers as:


1 Mallam Nuhu Ribadu

National Security Adviser

2 Maj. Gen. Chris G Musa

Chief of Defence Staff

3 Maj. (Gen) T. A Lagbaja

Chief of Army Staff

4 Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla

Chief of Naval Staff

5 AVM H.B Abubakar

Chief of Air Staff

6 DIG Kayode Egbetokun

Acting Inspector-General of Police

7 Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye

Chief of Defense Intelligence.

Others are:


1 Col. Adebisi Onasanya

Brigade of Guards Commander

2 Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf

7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja

3 Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa 177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State

4 Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger

5 Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja.

Similarly, the President has approved the appointments of other Military Officers in the Presidential Villa as follows:


1 Maj. Isa Farouk Audu

(N/14695) Commanding Officer State House Artillery

2 Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183) Second-in-Command, State House Artillery

3 Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat

(N/14656) Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence

4 Maj. TS Adeola (N/12860) Commanding Officer, State House Armament

5 Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578)

Second-in- Command, State House Armament.

Also, the President has approved the appointments of two (2) additional Special Advisers, and two (2) Senior Assistants, namely:


1 Hadiza Bala Usman Special Adviser, Policy Coordination.

2 Hannatu Musa Musawa Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy.

3 Sen. Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel Senior Special Assistant , National Assembly Matters (Senate).

4 Hon. (Barr) Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives).

Finally, the President has approved the appointment of Adeniyi Bashir Adewale as the Ag. Comptroller General of Customs.

The statement noted that the appointed Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police and the Comptroller General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

It would be recalled that Ribadu was earlier named among the 8 Special Advisers appointed last week as Special Adviser, Security.

Previous articleHow policeman handcuffed, raped me during visit to my son in prison
Next articleNew police boss Egbetokun assumes office as ex-IGP Baba exits


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.