Tinubu’s victory: Appeal Court fixes May 8 for panel members’ inauguration


Photo: Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem

Tinubu’s victory: Appeal Court fixes May 8 for panel members’ inauguration 

The members of the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal (PEPT)  constituted by the President of the Court of Appeal, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem to preside over the petitions challenging the victory of Nigeria’s President-elect, Bola Tinubu, will be formally unveiled on Monday at the Court of Appeal Headquarters in Abuja by the court’s president.

It was gathered that Justice Dongban-Mensem has all along kept the names of the tribunal members to her chest to avoid undue influence on them.

- Advertisement -

Periscope International reports that the Action Alliance (AA) and its Presidential Candidate in the February 25 presidential election, Solomon David Okanigbuan have notified the tribunal of their intentions to withdraw their petition against the declaration of Tinubu as winner of the election by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The motion on notice for the withdrawal of the petition is expected to be tabled before the Tribunal during the inaugural sitting.

Also listed as respondents in AA’s petition are the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), All Progressives Congress APC and Hamza Al Mustapha.

Other petitions slated for the pre-hearing session are those of the Action People’s Party (APP) marked CA/PEPC/02/2023, which has Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as respondents.

The petitions of Mr Peter Obi, the presidential candidate of Labour Party (LP) and that of his party marked CA/PEPC/03/2023, which had INEC, Tinubu, Vice President-elect, Kashim Shettima and APC as respondents will be heard next.

The Cause List of the tribunal’s proceedings on the inauguration date indicates that the Allied People’s Movement (APM) will proceed with its petition marked CA/PEPC/04/2023 against Tinubu.

The defendants in APM’s petition are INEC, APC, Tinubu, Shettima and one Kabir Masari.

The petition of former Vice President Abubakar Atiku and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) which has INEC, Tinubu and the APC as respondents. marked CA/ PEPC/05/2023, will be treated last.

All parties in the five petitions that will all be entertained at the Court of Appeal’s Main Court Hall have been served with hearing notices through the Chambers of their respective lawyers.

Previous articleKing Charles III, Queen Camilla officially crowned in London
Next articleShakeup in police as IGP posts DCPs, ACPs to commands, formations


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.